WooCommerce: Add Upsell Area @ Checkout Page

If you want to increase your AOV (Average Order Value), you can definitely start from the WooCommerce Checkout page.

A client asked me to place a “Donation Area” close to the “Place Order” button (so at the bottom of the page, once customers are ready to pay) to drive more awareness around this add-on. All I had to do was creating hidden products with a donation value, use my own “Custom Add to Cart URL” guide to create add to cart links and print an HTML box right above the checkout button by using my WooCommerce Visual Hook Guide for the Checkout Page. Enjoy!

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WooCommerce: 10 Easy Snippets to Increase Your Sales

I had the pleasure to speak at WordCamp Prague 2019. I spoke about “10 PHP Snippets to Increase WooCommerce Sales” and managed to show some simple coding to the audience. Trust me – increasing your WooCommerce sales can also be done with a free, short, easy PHP snippet.

So, given that I want to share all the snippets I talked about, this is a quick recap. Copy them, test them (a must!) and then use them. And let me know if your conversion rate and/or AOV (average order value) increased!

At the bottom of the page you also find my talk slides. Enjoy:) Continue reading WooCommerce: 10 Easy Snippets to Increase Your Sales

WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?

AOV a.k.a. Average Order Value is one of the most important ecommerce metrics. It describes the average order total in a given period of time. If this year your WooCommerce website converted 150 orders and made $30,000 in revenue, your AOV for this year is $30,000/150 = $200 (i.e. on average, you can expect each order to be $200).

FYI, the meaning of AOV is the same for any ecommerce platform, but in this article we’ll talk just about WooCommerce. In our opinion WooCommerce is a better, more cost-effective solution than Shopify or other counterparts.

If you don’t know what your WooCommerce store AOV is, immediately go to WordPress Dashboard > WooCommerce > Reports > Orders > Sales by Date > Year and divide “net sales in this period” by the number of “orders placed”. But be careful – those reports are sometimes not correct (I know WooCommerce is working on this at the moment). Mine is giving me AOV = €2… and I know that’s not right.

Your best bet is your Google Analytics account (as long as you’re using the official WooCommerce – Google Analytics integration) and/or your Metorik reports (here’s an article you should read if you need to know how to install reliable WooCommerce tracking, reporting, filtering and segmentinghttps://businessbloomer.com/advanced-woocommerce-tracking-analytics-reports-exports-segmentation/). My Metorik dashboard tells me my WooCommerce website AOV for this year is €233 so far – I can trust this one for sure.

So the question is: how can we get our WooCommerce customers to spend more? Well, here’s a list of WooCommerce plugin alternatives you can install right now to boost your AOV.

In fairness, who wouldn’t want some extra revenue? 🙂

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WooCommerce: Add Checkout Fees Based on Custom Radio Button

This is a great WooCommerce snippet (or plugin, if you wish to call it like that) for those who want to provide conditional checkout fees. For example, you might need to display custom checkout radio buttons to pick premium packaging types, gift wrapping options, specific services or whatever can increase your AOV (Average Order Value).

Radio button selection must work with “Ajax” – which means as soon as the radio button is chosen, checkout must refresh in order to display the updated fees and totals.

Something similar (and also more complex, such as offering additional products) is achieved by the WooCommerce Checkout Add-Ons Plugin sold on the official WooCommerce.com marketplace. But in this case, we want to take a look at custom coding so you’ve got something to play with! Enjoy.

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WooCommerce: “You Only Need $$$ to Get Free Shipping!” @ Cart

This is a very cool snippet that many of you should use to increase your average order value. Ecommerce customers who are near the “free shipping” threshold will try to add more products to the cart in order to qualify for free shipping. It’s pure psychology.

Here’s how we show a simple message on the WooCommerce Cart page. Enjoy!

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