WooCommerce: Set Min Purchase Amount for Specific Product

We already studied how to set min/max WooCommerce add to cart quantity programmatically. That was an easy one. This time, I want to expand on the topic, and define a “minimum order amount on a per-product basis”.

Which, translated in plain English, would be something along the lines of “set the minimum purchase amount for product XYZ to $50”. And once we do that, I expect that the add to cart quantity does non start from 1 – instead it defaults to “$50 divided by product price”. If product price is $10, I would want to set the minimum add to cart quantity to “5” on the single product and cart pages.

Makes sense? Great – here’s how it’s done.

Continue reading WooCommerce: Set Min Purchase Amount for Specific Product

How to Customize your WooCommerce Store Without Coding

WooCommerce, with 25% market share for website eCommerce solutions as of November 2019, is the most popular platform for building online stores. It’s easy to get a basic setup running and start selling your products online.

WooCommerce also offers a lot of hooks and filters for further customization – the only problem is you need to understand a bit of PHP programming.

This is where the WooCustomizer WordPress plugin comes in. WooCustomizer offers all of these filters and more, all neatly built into one WordPress plugin so you can visually customize your WooCommerce store in an ‘easy to use’ and intuitive interface within the WordPress Customizer.

No more creating a child theme to manually add code snippets to your WordPress website, no more adding multiple plugins and increasing the chance of bugs coming up… Just a simple, one plugin solution.

Continue reading How to Customize your WooCommerce Store Without Coding

6 WooCommerce Tax & Accounting Tips to Save You Time This Tax Season

If just the thought of tax season gives you a headache, you’re not alone. In fact, 60 percent of small-business owners don’t feel confident about their accounting knowledge (Small Business Report – Accounting).

We understand the feeling – tax season is approaching and you’re frantically trying to add up and categorize all of those shoe boxes full of receipts. Or maybe you’re not even completely sure of your business’ financial position as you haven’t accurately tracked your orders/sales.

Whether you’re behind on your accounting, unsure of what your business income is, or simply want to save yourself the time and headaches that tax season entails, this guide is for you.

We have compiled our top WooCommerce accounting tips to save you time this tax season (and every year there after…)

Ready to dive in?

Continue reading 6 WooCommerce Tax & Accounting Tips to Save You Time This Tax Season

WooCommerce: Disable Out of Stock Variations @ Variable Product Dropdown

A nice way to avoid user frustration is to never let them pick a product / variation that is out of stock, only to realize later they can’t purchase it.

A variable product comes with a “select dropdown” on the single product page, from which customers can pick their favorite variation. Problem is that ONLY after selecting this they will find out about price, stock status and may be able to add to cart.

Today, we’ll completely disable (grey-out) those select dropdown options (variations) that are out of stock, so that users don’t waste time and only pick one of those that are in stock. Enjoy!

Continue reading WooCommerce: Disable Out of Stock Variations @ Variable Product Dropdown

How to Add Extra Product Options (Add-Ons) to WooCommerce

This is a guest post by Maarten Belmans of Studio Wombat – if you like the article, make sure to thank him in the comments!

If you use WooCommerce for your online business, you may have needed the ability to add extra options.

That functionality allows buyers to personalize their products exactly the way they want – whether they want to add their favorite pizza topping or buy a laptop with extra RAM.

When you provide those options, you optimize the customer experience on your website. But in order to provide those customization options, you’ll need a product add-on plugin.

That type of plugin makes it easy for you to create additional form fields, which in turn allows your visitors to customize the products they want to purchase.

Continue reading How to Add Extra Product Options (Add-Ons) to WooCommerce

WooCommerce: Additional Products Table Column @ Admin

The default WooCommerce Dashboard Products page (/wp-admin/edit.php?post_type=product page) shows the list of products in a table. Default fields are: Image, SKU, Stock, Price, Categories, Tags, Featured and Date.

Sometimes, these columns are not enough and you need more. For example, you might want to quickly take a look at a product custom field, such as “visibility” (whether the product is hidden or not).

So, here’s the snippet for that. Of course, you can adapt it to show your own custom field, an ACF field or whatever product-related information you require.

Continue reading WooCommerce: Additional Products Table Column @ Admin

WooCommerce: Custom Related Products

WooCommerce picks related products on the Single Product Page based on product categories and/or product tags. Related products are very important to the shopping experience, and sometimes this is not enough – what if you want to automatically show certain products based on different criteria?

So, here’s a quick snippet to e.g. get related products with the same product title of the current one. A very strange example, but you can use this as reference in case you want to get products based on different criteria.

The get_posts() function, in fact, can be customized to get products with a given stock, specific price range, same custom field value, search term, and so on.

Continue reading WooCommerce: Custom Related Products

6 Popular WooCommerce Payment Gateways

As you probably already know, WooCommerce offers the easiest way to build an online store with WordPress.

Depending on your individual needs, WooCommerce allows you to add digital products as well as subscriptions. One of the most important components of your store is the payment gateway you use.

This is what offers your shoppers a secure shopping experience by connecting your store to an online payment service where they can pay for their orders, safely and securely.

What is a WooCommerce Payment Gateway?

WooCommerce payment gateways work by verifying the billing information for every customer, approving requests and ensuring you get paid.

The type of WooCommerce payment gateway to choose depends on several factors which include how easy it is to integrate with WooCommerce, the target clients you serve, related costs and the level of security you need.

Continue reading 6 Popular WooCommerce Payment Gateways

How to Choose the Right WooCommerce Theme

WordPress truly powers the web. With over 75 million active websites currently using WordPress, it’s no wonder it’s such a natural choice for so many online businesses. When it comes to eCommerce, WordPress makes it exceptionally simple with WooCommerce.

WooCommerce is the go-to eCommerce solution for WordPress. It’s easy to install, free to use, and full of customization options that make it easy to design your own eCommerce store quickly. With thousands of easy-to-use themes, how do you know where to begin?

It’s worth being strategic when you choose your WooCommerce theme. The right theme is easy to use, enticing to your audience and helps build your brand.

Before you invest your time and money in a theme, make sure you know exactly what to look for. In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know to choose the right WooCommerce theme for your site. 

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10 Travel WordPress Themes to Turn Your Hobby Into a Business

Do you like to travel and share your photos and articles? Writing a travel blog is so in trend nowadays.

The tourism business is growing fast. Many people look for how and where to go to relax. Many want to visit new places. Others want to learn more about exciting and interesting places to visit.

In this article, I included the most impressive travel themes for WordPress that are distinguished by their appearance and functionality. Of course, you will not need any supernatural code knowledge.

Themes from this selection will suit for:

  • travel blogs
  • travel magazines
  • travel agencies
  • hotel reservation

Feel free to take a look at their demos, read their descriptions and the features of those that are worth your attention.

Continue reading 10 Travel WordPress Themes to Turn Your Hobby Into a Business

WooCommerce: Bulk Dynamic Pricing Without a Plugin

You’re looking to assign different unit prices based on the quantity added to Cart, for example from 1-100 price is $5, from 101-1000 price is $4.90 and from 1001 units ordered price becomes $4.75.

There are many “Dynamic Pricing” plugins out there (and the number #2 on this article would suit complex pricing rules and dynamic discounts), but this time I want to teach you a simple code to DIY WooCommerce quantity-based pricing.

As usual, comments and shares are much appreciated. Enjoy!

Continue reading WooCommerce: Bulk Dynamic Pricing Without a Plugin

132 WooCommerce Themes at ONE Subscription

If you want to create your ecommerce business from scratch or freshen up your WooCommerce theme, today’s topic might catch your attention.

I want to share with you the new ONE subscription service for designers and developers. ONE is a service from TemplateMonster, which provides access to lots of themes and tools for design and development for a fixed yearly payment.

ONE is a service that works on a paid subscription. You don’t have to worry about credits and download restrictions. This approach gives you the opportunity to experiment with different templates before making a final decision – and if you don’t find what you need, there is also a 14 days money back guarantee.

Thanks to the subscription, you can access not only themes and templates, but also pluginsgraphic elements and even PowerPoint templates. There are also lots of Elementor templates and many different themes for ecommerce like Magento, OpenCart and, of course, WooCommerce.

Continue reading 132 WooCommerce Themes at ONE Subscription

WooCommerce: Add Custom Field to “Bulk Actions” > “Edit”

As you know, one of the product bulk edit methods comes with WooCommerce out of the box. It can be found under “WP Dashboard” > “Products” > “Bulk Actions” > “Edit”. For example, you can decrease all prices by 10%, or bulk assign a new product category.

However, if you added a custom product field such as RRP, this won’t show automatically there in the bulk edit form – you’ll therefore need to add it via code. Thankfully, WooCommerce gives us a “hook” we can use to display the input in the bulk edit form. After that, another PHP function will be used to save and store the value.

Easy as pie! Just copy & paste into your functions.php. Enjoy 🙂

Continue reading WooCommerce: Add Custom Field to “Bulk Actions” > “Edit”

WooCommerce: 10 Easy Snippets to Increase Your Sales

I had the pleasure to speak at WordCamp Prague 2019. I spoke about “10 PHP Snippets to Increase WooCommerce Sales” and managed to show some simple coding to the audience. Trust me – increasing your WooCommerce sales can also be done with a free, short, easy PHP snippet.

So, given that I want to share all the snippets I talked about, this is a quick recap. Copy them, test them (a must!) and then use them. And let me know if your conversion rate and/or AOV (average order value) increased!

At the bottom of the page you also find my talk slides. Enjoy:) Continue reading WooCommerce: 10 Easy Snippets to Increase Your Sales

WooCommerce: Which “Subscriptions” Plugin Should You Buy? [2019]

Setting up a recurring revenue stream is one of the hottest ecommerce money-making strategies. And there is no doubt that, no matter whether you sell cakes, audio books, services, rentals, there is always room for a “subscription” product.

Think about selling a product once, and then seeing automatic renewal orders come through. And where the customers’ credit card is automatically charged. Yes, this can be done with a “WooCommerce Subscriptions” plugin.

Though, it comes at a cost (besides, it’s a subscription you have to purchase from a WooCommerce plugin developer to guarantee on-going bug fixing, support and maintenance!), with the reason being you can’t really code such a delicate functionality on your own (with a snippet for example). Subscription plugins are about money, revenue, automatic charge operations, tokens, error handling, retrials and other complex things – at this stage you have no other choice than purchasing an out-of-the-box solution: a reliable WooCommerce Subscriptions plugin.

The hard part here is deciding which subscription plugin is the best fit for you as a user and for your WooCommerce store. You also need to consider things such as integration, compatibility, UX, payment gateways, support (my favorite), code quality, functionality roadmap, maintenance, long-term reliability and – also – price.

This ultimate review guide goes through my top 3 choices. From $49 to $199, you have a full range of products, and each one offers the same exact thing: recurring payments.

So, what’s the difference? Which one should you pick?

Continue reading WooCommerce: Which “Subscriptions” Plugin Should You Buy? [2019]

27 WooCommerce SEO Tips (For Non-Techies)

I had the pleasure to speak at WordCamp Milano 2018, and I had a blast! I believe the topic was pretty interesting, so you all deserve a long post recap with actionable tips and screenshots to understand basic WooCommerce SEO (video of the presentation will be available soon).

The following WooCommerce Search Engine Optimization tips are mostly non technical, and are aimed at WordPress and WooCommerce users who never heard of “schema”, “long tail”, “301” and “hreflang” (although if you did, please have a read anyway, make sure to post a comment and contribute to this post with your expertise).

The thing is – SEO is never going to die. Besides, Google & co. constantly improve their website ranking algorithms. This means what you learned 5 years ago in regard to SEO might not work today, and what you learn today might not work in 2 years time… you get the point.

In this blog post, we will analyze and study 27 evergreen SEO factors for WooCommerce websites. These should be applied (or not applied, as there are many “not to do” tips as well) to your ecommerce website at all costs if you believe you deserve better ranking (who doesn’t?). And as they’re evergreen, they’re likely not to go away for a few years at least 🙂

So, let’s get started!

Continue reading 27 WooCommerce SEO Tips (For Non-Techies)

WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?

AOV a.k.a. Average Order Value is one of the most important ecommerce metrics. It describes the average order total in a given period of time. If this year your WooCommerce website converted 150 orders and made $30,000 in revenue, your AOV for this year is $30,000/150 = $200 (i.e. on average, you can expect each order to be $200).

FYI, the meaning of AOV is the same for any ecommerce platform, but in this article we’ll talk just about WooCommerce. In our opinion WooCommerce is a better, more cost-effective solution than Shopify or other counterparts.

If you don’t know what your WooCommerce store AOV is, immediately go to WordPress Dashboard > WooCommerce > Reports > Orders > Sales by Date > Year and divide “net sales in this period” by the number of “orders placed”. But be careful – those reports are sometimes not correct (I know WooCommerce is working on this at the moment). Mine is giving me AOV = €2… and I know that’s not right.

Your best bet is your Google Analytics account (as long as you’re using the official WooCommerce – Google Analytics integration) and/or your Metorik reports (here’s an article you should read if you need to know how to install reliable WooCommerce tracking, reporting, filtering and segmentinghttps://businessbloomer.com/advanced-woocommerce-tracking-analytics-reports-exports-segmentation/). My Metorik dashboard tells me my WooCommerce website AOV for this year is €233 so far – I can trust this one for sure.

So the question is: how can we get our WooCommerce customers to spend more? Well, here’s a list of WooCommerce plugin alternatives you can install right now to boost your AOV.

In fairness, who wouldn’t want some extra revenue? 🙂

Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?

WooCommerce: 5 Ways To Increase B2B Conversions

This is a guest post by Matthew Abdalah of Rumbleship – if you like the article, make sure to thank him in the comments!

Customers live in a world of digital distractions and the last place you want your customers to be distracted is during checkout.

Consumer ecommerce (B2C, business-to-consumer) has taught the B2B (business-to-business) world a lot about what a distraction-free, conversion-friendly checkout looks like: we should reference these lessons for best practices.

Due to its ubiquity, your wholesale buyers are conditioned to expect a comparable level of service to what they experience on B2C websites such as Amazon and eBay.

Tactics like 30-day terms, free shipping and bulk discounts are some of the techniques referenced in this article but we’ve compiled a few extra ones.

Here are 5 creative ways to reduce wholesale WooCommerce shopping cart abandonment, increase your sales conversion rate and grow your profits. Continue reading WooCommerce: 5 Ways To Increase B2B Conversions

How to Keep Your WooCommerce Customers Loyal?

This is a guest post by Michael Lazar of ReadyCloud – if you like the article, make sure to thank him in the comments!

Customers are the backbone of any ecommerce store, but loyal customers are the shining stars. They cost less to retain, and they are easier to sell to – not to mention that they’ll do some of your marketing for you via social media.

The biggest names in ecommerce right now are thriving because of their loyal customers. Amazon Prime, for example, has over 100 million subscribers, and Zappos does 75% of their business with repeat customers.

Have you ever wondered how these internet giants have captured and retained customers?

Surprisingly, their tactics are not as expensive and time-consuming as you might think. Even as a small WooCommerce e-tailer, you can provide a shopping experience that will keep your customers coming back.

And here are five ways to make it happen. Continue reading How to Keep Your WooCommerce Customers Loyal?