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WooCommerce: How to Watch Orders & Data in Real-Time on TV?

Maybe you run a busy WooCommerce store from your warehouse. Alternatively, you have a spare TV screen in the office and don’t know what to do with it. Even better, you’ve been asked to show orders in real time, as they come in. Possibly, you’ve looked for a way to show data and statistics in real time without refreshing your Google Analytics dashboard or the WooCommerce Reports section.

What we’re talking about here is specifically finding a way to show your WooCommerce real-time orders, custom stats dashboards and custom graphs on a TV screen.

And today this is possible thanks to a new feature released by Bryce Adams, founder and developer of Metorik (of which I’m an active customer as you can see from the screenshots).

We already covered the ins and outs of advanced WooCommerce tracking (i.e. the WooCommerce default reports are quite poor, so I’ve introduced you to 2 alternatives there), so I don’t want to repeat myself in this blog post.

So, how do you enable real-time tracking and order notifications on a TV screen? Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Watch Orders & Data in Real-Time on TV?

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WooCommerce: Add Plus & Minus Buttons To Add to Cart Quantity Input

Here’s a quick snippet you can simply copy/paste to show a “+” and a “-” on each side of the quantity number input on the WooCommerce single product page.

This snippet comes with a jQuery script as well, as we need to detect whether the plus or minus are clicked and consequently update the quantity input. jQuery might look difficult to many, but the beauty of this is that you don’t need to have a degree in jQuery – just copy/paste and see the magic happen.

Note: you will probably also require some additional CSS, as your theme might give a “float” to the quantity DIV while by default HTML buttons take inline-block. I’ve added some CSS valid for the Storefront theme below. Continue reading WooCommerce: Add Plus & Minus Buttons To Add to Cart Quantity Input

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WooCommerce: Display “NEW” Badge on Recent Products

We already have a nice “SALE” badge by default with WooCommerce (as well as the “OUT OF STOCK”) one. These show on the shop page once certain conditions are met.

Now, what if we wanted to show a “NEW” badge for products added in the last 30 days? This would certainly grab the customer attention, and also communicate the fact your shop is constantly updating with new products and content (well, good for Google too, right?).

So, how do they do it? (Sounds like one of those Discovery Channel shows…)

Well, here’s a simple snippet for you; simply copy/paste into your functions.php and magically a “NEW” badge will show (note: CSS is not provided, you’ll need to adjust it based on your current theme and custom styles). Continue reading WooCommerce: Display “NEW” Badge on Recent Products

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WooCommerce: Display Required Field Errors “Inline” @ Checkout

If you’re familiar with the upcoming Gutenberg editor, you’ll know there have been a million doubts in regard to accessibility. So, accessibility matters – and WooCommerce has a few issues as well.

One interesting accessibility fix is the error notification system on the checkout page. Yes, the missing fields error show on top of the page when trying to place an order, but once you scroll down to fill them out again you might need a reminder of which field is missing without having to scroll back up to check the error.

This is quite difficult to explain, so take a look at the screenshot. The suggestion here is to also add “inline” error notifications (“XYZ is a required field“) right above each field, so that the user knows exactly what to do. So, let’s see how it’s done. Continue reading WooCommerce: Display Required Field Errors “Inline” @ Checkout

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27 WooCommerce SEO Tips (For Non-Techies)

I had the pleasure to speak at WordCamp Milano 2018, and I had a blast! I believe the topic was pretty interesting, so you all deserve a long post recap with actionable tips and screenshots to understand basic WooCommerce SEO (video of the presentation will be available soon).

The following WooCommerce Search Engine Optimization tips are mostly non technical, and are aimed at WordPress and WooCommerce users who never heard of “schema”, “long tail”, “301” and “hreflang” (although if you did, please have a read anyway, make sure to post a comment and contribute to this post with your expertise).

The thing is – SEO is never going to die. Besides, Google & co. constantly improve their website ranking algorithms. This means what you learned 5 years ago in regard to SEO might not work today, and what you learn today might not work in 2 years time… you get the point.

In this blog post, we will analyze and study 27 evergreen SEO factors for WooCommerce websites. These should be applied (or not applied, as there are many “not to do” tips as well) to your ecommerce website at all costs if you believe you deserve better ranking (who doesn’t?). And as they’re evergreen, they’re likely not to go away for a few years at least 🙂

So, let’s get started! Continue reading 27 WooCommerce SEO Tips (For Non-Techies)

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WooCommerce: Change Product Permalinks @ Shop / Loop Pages

A BloomerArmada fan asked me a very interesting question: how can I link each product in the shop page to its own custom landing page as opposed to the default permalink?

Of course this applies when you don’t want to use the default single product page for all or some products. Clearly, you could set up a 301 redirect from the single product page to the landing page – that will help for SEO as well. But if this is temporary, or you need to still give access to the single product page later on, then a redirect is no good.

So, here’s how you can override the default permalink. Continue reading WooCommerce: Change Product Permalinks @ Shop / Loop Pages

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How to Blacklist WooCommerce Scammers, Emails, IP, Phones?

A WooCommerce email notifications pops up – yet another new order, money, revenue, happiness. However, hold on a second – money is not technically in your bank account until you’re forced to give a refund. Even worse, until you realize not only you had to give a refund, but also getting the item back costs you a fortune. And who knows how many times this is going to happen, mostly when you ship physical products.

Fortunately, there are ways in WooCommerce to blacklist customers, deny purchasing from specific countries, block certain IP addresses and do whatever you can to save money.

In the era of Amazon and online shopping we constantly hear of scams and frauds, so this is definitely a topic that shouldn’t be underestimated. A small plugin investment or a few lines of code could actually make a big difference.

Besides, choosing the correct online payment methods (which should give you some sort of anti-fraud out of the box) and avoiding offline payments (bank transfer, cash on delivery, check) are important measures you should already have in place.

So, moving beyond the actual online payments, there is something else we could do to stop scammers placing an order (yes, even before paying or trying to pay). Prevention is better (and more affordable) than cure, right?

I’ve put together a list of WooCommerce plugins and settings you should look into from today on. And sooner rather than later. Enjoy 🙂 Continue reading How to Blacklist WooCommerce Scammers, Emails, IP, Phones?

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WooCommerce: Move / Remove Coupon Form @ Cart & Checkout

Coupons: the good, the bad and the ugly. WooCommerce coupon codes are great to convert more sales – but sometimes they get users to pause / stop placing the order until they find a coupon code online (you did it too, I know).

One good workaround that the internet giants such as Amazon and eBay have implemented is to hide the coupon form until an email is entered, or alternatively to move the coupon code to the bottom of the Cart page. This is a very smart move, and gets the user to concentrate on the Cart / Checkout details before entering or searching for a coupon.

So the question is – how to move the coupon code form in the Cart page and remove it from the Checkout page? Well, as usual, a bit of PHP can help us. Here’s how it’s done! Continue reading WooCommerce: Move / Remove Coupon Form @ Cart & Checkout

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WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?

AOV a.k.a. Average Order Value is one of the most important ecommerce metrics. It describes the average order total in a given period of time. If this year your WooCommerce website converted 150 orders and made $30,000 in revenue, your AOV for this year is $30,000/150 = $200 (i.e. on average, you can expect each order to be $200).

If you don’t know what your WooCommerce store AOV is, immediately go to WordPress Dashboard > WooCommerce > Reports > Orders > Sales by Date > Year and divide “net sales in this period” by the number of “orders placed”. But be careful – those reports are sometimes not correct (I know WooCommerce is working on this at the moment). Mine is giving me AOV = €2… and I know that’s not right.

Your best bet is your Google Analytics account (as long as you’re using the official WooCommerce – Google Analytics integration) and/or your Metorik reports (here’s an article you should read if you need to know how to install reliable WooCommerce tracking, reporting, filtering and segmentinghttps://businessbloomer.com/advanced-woocommerce-tracking-analytics-reports-exports-segmentation/). My Metorik dashboard tells me my WooCommerce website AOV for this year is €233 so far – I can trust this one for sure.

So the question is: how can we get our WooCommerce customers to spend more? Well, here’s a list of WooCommerce plugin alternatives you can install right now to boost your AOV.

In fairness, who wouldn’t want some extra revenue? 🙂 Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?

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WooCommerce: Disable Tracking if Order Failed @ Thank You Page

The “woocommerce_thankyouhook fires on the Thank You page once an order is placed. Most tracking functions like Google Analytics, affiliate commission plugins and other WooCommerce extensions rely on “woocommerce_thankyou” to run their code.

Problem is – “woocommerce_thankyou” is ALSO called if an order fails (i.e. payment did not go through). Now, unless the plugin is smart enough in its own functions to exclude failed orders, which doesn’t happen often I’m afraid, we need to find a way NOT to run “woocommerce_thankyou” if an order fails. Case study: a client uses a third party affiliate plugin, this plugin hooks into “woocommerce_thankyou“, but they don’t want to calculate conversions when an order fails.

So here you go! Continue reading WooCommerce: Disable Tracking if Order Failed @ Thank You Page

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WooCommerce: Remove Cart Product Link @ Cart Page

We’ve already seen how to remove the product permalink from the “order table” (the one you see on the Thank you page, My account pages and emails). Thsi time, we’re looking at doing the same thing on the Cart page, which uses different “hooks” than the order pages and therefore requires its own snippet.

Here’s how it’s done – as usual 1 PHP line is sufficient! Continue reading WooCommerce: Remove Cart Product Link @ Cart Page

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WooCommerce: Disable Theme’s WooCommerce Template Overrides

A client purchased a premium “WooCommerce-ready” WordPress theme on Themeforest. Unfortunately, this theme comes with a /woocommerce folder, which means theme developers completely override WooCommerce template files by copying them to the folder, and customizing each of them by hand to match their design and functionality needs.

As you know from my “How To Become an Advanced WooCommerce Developer?” article, however, themes should NOT come with a /woocommerce folder – instead they should use “hooks” (actions and filters) to amend default WooCommerce plugin layouts and behavior. This is a huge problem for best seller themes and their legacy coding – and also a reason most themes break when you update WooCommerce…

So the question I asked myself was: how can I disable the entire /woocommerce folder (i.e. ALL WooCommerce template overrides) in a given theme, so that I can use the default WooCommerce ones instead? Continue reading WooCommerce: Disable Theme’s WooCommerce Template Overrides

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WooCommerce: 5 Ways To Increase B2B Conversions

This is a guest post by Matthew Abdalah of Rumbleship – if you like the article, make sure to thank him in the comments!

Customers live in a world of digital distractions and the last place you want your customers to be distracted is during checkout.

Consumer ecommerce (B2C, business-to-consumer) has taught the B2B (business-to-business) world a lot about what a distraction-free, conversion-friendly checkout looks like: we should reference these lessons for best practices.

Due to its ubiquity, your wholesale buyers are conditioned to expect a comparable level of service to what they experience on B2C websites such as Amazon and eBay.

Tactics like 30-day terms, free shipping and bulk discounts are some of the techniques referenced in this article but we’ve compiled a few extra ones.

Here are 5 creative ways to reduce wholesale WooCommerce shopping cart abandonment, increase your sales conversion rate and grow your profits. Continue reading WooCommerce: 5 Ways To Increase B2B Conversions

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15 WordPress Themes for Bloggers-To-Be

Are you thinking of starting a WordPress blog?

Great – let’s take a look at what we’ve got here: awesome templates for personal portfolios, food and beverages blogs, cooking blogs, fashion blogs, lifestyle blogs, magazines, speakers, book clubs, travel and photography blogs, and so on… there is really a wide choice of topics out there!

But with the content being the number 1 objective for your blog, don’t forget you also need good functionalities and design features. By opting for a professional WordPress theme from the very beginning, for a little investment, you can get everything you need out of the box:

  • Responsive design + cross browser compatibility – very important for mobile browsing
  • Shortcodes to display content blocks in any page / post, which significantly speed up customization
  • Advanced customization settings – you can change typography, logo, navigation, slider, page templates, footer so that every detail is in line with your brand
  • Predefined page templates for various standard pages like customers’ testimonials, about page, contact page. Every page of your blog can look different
  • Compatibility with WordPress Customizer, so that you can view the amendments in real time

There are many, maybe unlimited, professional WordPress themes for personal blogs – so here’s a quick roundup of 10 that might catch your attention. Have fun! Continue reading 15 WordPress Themes for Bloggers-To-Be

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WooCommerce: How to Put Cart & Checkout on the Same Page?

This is your ultimate guide – complete with shortcodes, snippets and workarounds – to completely skip the Cart page and have both cart table and checkout form on the same (Checkout) page.

But first… why’d you want to do this? Well, if you sell high ticket products (i.e. on average, you sell approximately one product per order), if you want to save an additional step (two steps convert better than three: “Add to Cart” > “Cart Page” > “Checkout Page” – and this is not rocket science), if your custom workflow and ecommerce objectives require you to manage Cart and Checkout all together, well, this tutorial is for you.

There is a mix of shortcodes, settings and PHP snippets you can use to make this work out of the box. And trust me, this is easier than you think.

While many developers decide to turn the checkout process into a “Multi-Step Checkout” (ehm, not sure why – the more steps the more likely it is to have a cart abandonment), in here we’ll see the exact opposite.

So, how do they do it?

Well, here’s the complete, easy, step by step guide to put Cart & Checkout on the same page. Give it a go, do some WooCommerce testing and tracking, and see if it converts better 🙂 Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Put Cart & Checkout on the Same Page?

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WooCommerce: 4 Reasons You Should Use a .STORE Domain

This is a guest post by Suman Das of Radix – if you like the article, make sure to thank him in the comments!

Now that you’re planning to sell online, you need to create your own brand. And while WooCommerce can help you develop a slick ecommerce website, building a great brand starts with picking a great domain name.

When it comes to effective brand building and harboring customer trust, your domain name plays a crucial role. It’s the first touchpoint for your customers and helps them get an understanding of what awaits them on your website. Paid marketing campaigns and special offers can help you convert traffic quickly, but to thrive in the long run it’s essential that you build an outstanding BRAND.

Your WooCommerce website is a virtual storefront, so why not use a brand new and very relevant .STORE domain name instead of a .COM? It’s a smart way to highlight the fact that you sell something on your website… without having to explain it through your brand name.

So, here are some reasons you should consider registering a .STORE domain for your WooCommerce website.

1. Strong, Memorable Brand Name

Selecting a .STORE domain can boost your brand awareness. As a domain extension that has been crafted specifically for retail and ecommerce, .STORE clearly implies what you do and what your customers can expect on your website.

Several small businesses such as Wonder.Store, Kono.Store, TopCoat.Store use .STORE to denote their presence on the internet – while making the most of a short, memorable, relevant and intuitive brand name.

Besides, when it comes to website goals, you can use .STORE to demarcate your online storefront from your business website. For example, Emirates uses Emirates.Store for its merchandise sales, while its corporation website – which has clearly a different audience in mind – is Emirates.com

2. Offline Marketing Campaigns

A .STORE domain is an effective way for you to transcend your offline marketing efforts and conjoin it with your online presence.

How does this work? If you run an ad in the local newspaper, radio or TV channel a short, memorable .STORE domain name might help you immensely.

For example, PoloShirts.Store might be an intuitive domain name which can be either used to send users to your standalone website, that sells polo shirts, or even to redirect traffic to your “Polo Shirts” product category page. This is a smarter option instead of using a long and awkward URL such as www.poloshirtsstore.com/casual-wear/shirts/polo-shirts/.

3. SEO

Search Engine Optimization is the backbone of organic marketing and it heavily depends on the quality and number of backlinks your website has. High quality backlinks for your website are pivotal to improve your organic search rank and for this to work, the ‘anchor text’ is crucial.

For example, if your WooCommerce store is called “Lifeandstyle.store” and you repeatedly get backlinks from credible websites with anchor text “Life and Style Store” and “Lifestyle Store” instead of just “Lifestyle”, your backlink game can strengthen.

The more backlinks you get this way, the better it is for your organic search ranking. Want to know more about how new domains impact SEO? You can check out this comprehensive white paper created by Radix, the third largest new domain registry in the world.

4. Credibility and Trust

If you are just starting out, building customers’ trust should be at the forefront of your marketing agenda. Having a domain name that is simple and unique for your WooCommerce store can lend legitimacy and credibility to your business, be it for customers, partners or suppliers.

Selecting a short and brandable name on .STORE, coupled with a professional .STORE email address can do wonders for your business. If you were to come across an ecommerce website that used an awkward URL and a Gmail address, a customer might think twice before purchasing.

To make things easier for their customers and partners, enhance credibility and trust and increase their brand awareness, Nebraska-based “The Stately Shirt Company” changed their domain name from Thestatelyshirtcompany.com to Stately.Store.

Conclusion

To sum things up, a .STORE domain extension can help you build a better online brand, make your offline marketing more effective, gain more organic traffic and build trust in your target audience.

You can now get your own .STORE domain name at just $4.99 for the first year. Use coupon STORE499 at Get.store

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How to Keep Your WooCommerce Customers Loyal?

This is a guest post by Michael Lazar of ReadyCloud – if you like the article, make sure to thank him in the comments!

Customers are the backbone of any ecommerce store, but loyal customers are the shining stars. They cost less to retain, and they are easier to sell to – not to mention that they’ll do some of your marketing for you via social media.

The biggest names in ecommerce right now are thriving because of their loyal customers. Amazon Prime, for example, has over 100 million subscribers, and Zappos does 75% of their business with repeat customers.

Have you ever wondered how these internet giants have captured and retained customers?

Surprisingly, their tactics are not as expensive and time-consuming as you might think. Even as a small WooCommerce e-tailer, you can provide a shopping experience that will keep your customers coming back.

And here are five ways to make it happen. Continue reading How to Keep Your WooCommerce Customers Loyal?

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WooCommerce: Exclude Hidden Products from Mini-Cart Counter

When you add a hidden product to Cart, either manually or programmatically, this will be displayed in the Cart, Checkout and Order details pages (I’m not sure why a hidden product behaves like that… but thankfully you can hide hidden products from the Cart/Checkout/Order page with this snippet).

Problem is, even if you hide hidden products from the Cart page, the “Mini-Cart” product counter icon or text (it depends on your theme) will still count them as products (see the screenshot below). So the question is: in conjunction with the snippet aforementioned, how do I exclude hidden products from being counted in the “menu cart” (also called Mini-Cart Widget)? Continue reading WooCommerce: Exclude Hidden Products from Mini-Cart Counter

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WooCommerce + Storefront: Hide “Home” Title @ Homepage

Storefront theme adds a “Home” H1 title to the homepage by default, no matter if you use the “Default” or the “Homepage” static page template.

Of course, you could do it via CSS, with a simple “display:none”. Even better, you could completely avoid loading the “Home” title by using PHP (SEOs out there: better not to load an H1 than hiding it via CSS, right?).

So, how do they do it (I mean how to hide the Storefront “Home” title)? Here’s the quick fix! Continue reading WooCommerce + Storefront: Hide “Home” Title @ Homepage

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WooCommerce + Jetpack: Exclude Image From “Lazy Load”

If you don’t use an “Image Lazy Load” plugin, it’s time you install one. And if you happen to pick Jetpack’s free Lazy Load module, you probably did the right thing.

However, since I installed Jetpack Lazy Load, I noticed a little “jump” in my Storefront theme header section, where in fact there is an image – my Business Bloomer logo. The same might apply to any WooCommerce image: a category thumbnail, a single product featured image, a cart icon in the header, a homepage hero image, and so on.

Thankfully Jetpack has a useful “filter” you can tap into in order to exclude image classes from lazy loading (yes, I found this out today, it’s not that I know everything!). So, here’s the fix. Enjoy 🙂 Continue reading WooCommerce + Jetpack: Exclude Image From “Lazy Load”